Go to content Go to menu

St. Augustine_2015

  St. Augustine is a city in the Southeastern United States, on the Atlantic coast of northeastern Florida. St. Augustine was founded on September 8, 1565, by Spanish admiral Pedro Menéndez de Avilés, Florida's first governor. The city served as the capital of Spanish Florida for over 200 years. Spain ceded Florida to the United States in 1819, and St. Augustine was designated the capital of the Florida Territory upon ratification of the Adams–Onís Treaty in 1821. The territorial government moved and made Tallahassee the capital of Florida in 1824.