Go to content Go to menu

Republic of Indonesia

  Indonesia is a country in Southeast Asia, between the Indian and Pacific oceans. The sovereign state is a presidential, constitutional republic with an elected legislature. It has 34 provinces. From the 7th century, the Srivijaya naval kingdom flourished as a result of trade along with the influences of Hinduism and Buddhism. The late 13th century saw the founding of the Hindu Majapahit kingdom in eastern Java.  Starting from 1840, the Dutch began a period of expansion.On 27 December 1949, the Dutch formally recognised Indonesian independence.




Date: 2011-07-17
Picture: 12
Folders: 0