Go to content Go to menu


  Montenegro is a country in Southeast Europe on the Adriatic Sea.  In 1042,  a revolt that resulted in the independence from the Byzantine Empire. The independent Principality of Zeta emerged in the 14th and 15th centuries. After falling under Ottoman rule, Montenegro regained de facto independence in 1697, first under the theocratic rule of prince-bishops , before being transformed into a secular principality in 1852.  In 1905, the country became a kingdom. After World War I, it became part of Yugoslavia. On the basis of an independence referendum held in May 2006, Montenegro declared independence 3 June of that year.




Date: 2012-08-17
Picture: 11
Folders: 0